

U.S. Department of Justice

Office of Legislative Affairs

Office of the Assistant Attorney General

Washington, DC 20530

TOP SECRET//COMINT//NOFORN,ORCON UNCLASSIFIED WHEN SEPARATED FROM CLASSIFIED ENCLOSURE

March 5, 2009

The Honorable Patrick J. Leahy Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable John Conyers, Jr. Chairman
Committee on the Judiciary
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Madam and Messrs. Chairmen:

The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Chairman Select Committee on Intelligence United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Silvestre Reyes Chairman Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

In accordance with the Attorney General's obligation, pursuant to Sections 1846 and 1862 of the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978, as amended ("FISA"), 50 U.S.C. § 1801, et. seq., to keep your committees fully informed concerning all uses of pen registers and trap and trace devices, and all requests for the production of tangible things, we are submitting herewith certain documents related to the government's use of such authorities. The documents contain redactions necessary to protect the national security of the United States, including the protection of sensitive sources and methods.

The enclosed documents are highly classified. Accordingly, while four copies are being provided for review by Members and appropriately cleared staff from each of the four Committees, all copies are being delivered to the Intelligence Committees for appropriate storage.

The Honorable Patrick J. Leahy The Honorable Dianne Feinstein The Honorable John Conyers, Jr. The Honorable Silvestre Reyes Page Two

We hope that this information is helpful. Please do not hesitate to contact this office if you would like additional assistance regarding this or any other matter.

Sincerely,

M. Faith Burton

Acting Assistant Attorney General

M. Fact Buton

Enclosures

cc: The Honorable Arlen Specter
Ranking Minority Member
Senate Committee on the Judiciary

The Honorable Christopher S. Bond Vice Chairman Senate Select Committee on Intelligence

The Honorable Lamar S. Smith Ranking Minority Member House Committee on the Judiciary

The Honorable Peter Hoekstra Ranking Minority Member House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence

The Honorable Colleen Kollar-Kotelly
Presiding Judge
United States Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court